Experiments with Snickerdoodles

What do you do when you have leftover cream cheese icing? My first thought was brownies with cream cheese icing. My daughter had other ideas, though – sandwich cookies a la Great American Cookie Co. So I made Snickerdoodles using the recipe I’ve posted before. I divided that dough in half and added 1/4 cup cocoa to half of the dough. Mmmm mmmm good!

What would I do different? I would perhaps flatten the cookies more, and I would probably use less cocoa. To tell you the truth, the chocolate version would probably work better if I made a completely separate batch so I could adjust the flour measurement. It tasted fine, but the dough was a little denser.

The whole point was to use up the cream cheese icing, but I think the icing itself was a little too thin. I’m not sure if adding a bit of powdered sugar at this point (several days after making the icing) would have worked out, but I think I would try next time.

Was  I disappointed? Not at all. Well worth a try if you’re so inclined!

Leave a Reply

