The summer of ice cream

Since Houston is way too hot to do much baking in the summer, I hereby declare this the summer of ice cream.

I kicked off the summer Memorial Day weekend – yeah, I know it’s not officially summer, but in Houston it may as well be – by making Oreo ice cream. It was creamy and delicious and frozen to perfection. Easily the best ice cream I’ve ever made. Since we only got the ice cream maker last summer, this isn’t saying a whole lot. But trust me, it was good!

Oreo ice cream

Yesterday I searched my Pinterest boards for ice cream and found this recipe for Peanut Butter Nutter Bar ice cream. I only modified the recipe slightly; instead of 2 cups of heavy cream and 1 cup of milk, I used 1 cup of heavy cream, 1 cup of half and half, and 1 cup of 2% milk. Still wouldn’t call it healthy, but it’s not *quite* as fatty. This was another winner! I keep accidentally saying Peanut Butter *Nutter Butter* ice cream, and I see a variation using Nutter Butter cookies instead of Nutty Bars in my near future.

Peanut butter Nutty Bar ice cream

Here’s a cool video my husband took of the ice cream in the making:

The Creation of Peanut Butter Nutty Bar Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

