2012 Reading in Review

I meant to post this at the beginning of the month, but life and all. I was pretty disappointed in my fewer-than-30-books reading total this year but have to remember that the biggest culprit is that I was knitting a lot, which I enjoy. So it should be a fair trade, huh? Well, it should be, but I don’t really see it that way. I’d really like to increase that number in 2013.

What I read in 2012 (roughly in order of most recently read):

  1. A Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  2. Funny Little Monkey by Andrew Auseon
  3. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
  4. A Thousand Lives by Julia Scheeres
  5. Glass Houses by Rachel Caine
  6. The Passage by Justin Cronin
  7. The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian
  8. Track of the Cat by Nevada Barr
  9. Pray for Silence by Linda Castillo
  10. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
  11. The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure
  12. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  13. Sabriel by Garth Nix (re-read)
  14. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  15. The Inner Circle by Brad Meltzer
  16. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  17. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  18. Bound South by Susan Rebecca White
  19. Remember Ben Clayton by Stephen Harrigan
  20. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
  21. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
  22. Tangled by Carolyn Mackler
  23. Once by Morris Gleitzman
  24. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
  25. The Sweet Potato Queens’ Book of Love by Jill Conner Browne
  26. The Book of Fires by Jane Borodale
  27. Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

19 Adult Books
8 YA/Kids Books
3 Nonfiction

Some reflection. First of all, as I was making the list, I kept thinking to myself, “Oh, that was good!”, so overall, while my number wasn’t high, there was some quality reading. Second, I quit thinking that about halfway through the list (so the first half of 2012, roughly). I’m not sure exactly what that means, except that the second half of the year had much less “obligation” reading. I think the biggest takeaway from this is “Read what you want, not what you’re supposed to read.”

I would also like to point out that while my total was only 27 books, I have 2 chunksters going that I’ve been working on for more than a year, so that accounted for a chunk of reading time. Also, there were a lot of books that I started and didn’t finish for whatever reason (either I didn’t like them or I was sampling them for the Dublin Award nominating committee at work).

Leave a Reply

