Aunt Di’s Bittersweet Chocolate Layer Caje

20121105-063850.jpg

Saturday was our friend Cathy’s birthday, and she requested that I bake a cake. I am to the chapter in All Cakes Considered that deals with fancier cakes, thus I need more special occasions than “It’s Friday!” to bake one of these mamas. Cathy’s birthday was the perfect opportunity to try out the first cake in the chapter, Aunt Di’s Bittersweet Chocolate Layer Cake.

The cake itself is interesting in that it is a whipped cream cake – it uses heavy whipping cream in place of butter and milk. My verdict: it tastes good but is not as moist as I would like. Probably a fault of the chef and not the recipe.

Now, the frosting. When I followed the recipe exactly, this frosting was extremely runny. I added about half a box more of powdered sugar before it was thick enough to spread. Out of curiosity, I Googled the recipe & no one else seemed to have this problem – in fact, there were stellar reviews for the frosting. I don’t know if it was something I did or if letting it sit originally would have allowed it to thicken. A little frustrating. That said, my final product did taste great.

I will slowly continue to work through this book, & hopefully my layer-cake-assembly will improve as I go. This was probably my most successfully constructed layer cake, but it still needs improvement.

One response to this post.

  1. This does look prinsiomg. I’ll keep coming back for more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

