Chicken Bog & Sweet Potato Biscuits

I recently bought Paula Deen’s Southern Cooking Bible, after checking it out at the library. I can’t say I’m working my way through it, as there are quite a few recipes I don’t have any interest in cooking – for example, anything deep fried – but I did make a list (oh how I love lists) and am randomly picking recipes to try.

As you can tell by the title of this post, today I made sweet potato biscuits and chicken bog.

20121021-184223.jpg

 

 

 

What is chicken bog, you ask? Basically, it’s rice, sausage, and chicken cooked in a spicy broth. It may not be much to look at, but it was really good! Very subtly spicy and a nice consistency. It sort of reminded me of the filling in the sticky rice you get at dim sum restaurants, but not quite as sticky. Jimmy is a huge fan of all three ingredients and this was a big hit with him.

Apparently sweet potato biscuits are a well-known Southern phenomena, but I had never heard of them. Maybe a Georgia thing? These turned out so light and fluffy, and just a bit sweet. They were delicious, and I will definitely make them again!

Leave a Reply

