24 Hour Readathon – October 2012

Well, I hadn’t planned on participating in the readathon from hour 1, as I was really hoping to sleep in this morning, but all the animals in my house had other ideas. So, here I am, hour 1. I’m definitely not a 24-hour-reader – I’m too ADD for that – but I plan to participate as much as possible during the day today, and perhaps in the evening.

Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

I live in Meadows Place, Texas, which is literally one street outside Houston city limits.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Glass Houses – the first book in the Morganville Vampires series. My library hosted a virtual author visit with Rachel Caine on Thursday, and I became a fangirl, even though I haven’t read one of her books. I managed to find an e-book to check out from one of our local library systems yesterday.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Well, I don’t actually get to eat this today, but sometime this afternoon I’m going to pick up my 16-year-old daughter’s birthday cake – a custom cake with a Supernatural (tv show) theme. We’re hoping for either a spectacular cake or a spectacular cake WRECK! I will post a picture after I pick it up.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I am a librarian in Houston. My to-be-read list is so long that it would take me about 40 years to finish it – assuming I never add anything new… I love to bake and knit. I’ll probably take knitting breaks today, but I don’t plan to bake. 🙂 I’m married with 2 kids, Laura (who turned 16 on Tuesday, thus the cake…) and Eli, who is 14. My husband Jimmy is a nerd extraordinaire – teacher of computer science, astronomy, physics, and web design. He’s a reader, too, when he has time (which isn’t often these days, unfortunately), but he is off to an academic challenge (aka Quiz Bowl) competition with students today. You can follow me on Twitter at @somernewland, find me on Goodreads as somereads, and if you’re on Ravelry, you can find me there, too, as someryarns.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I’ve participated in lots of readathons over the years, but this is the first one in a while where I feel like I actually can get a huge chunk of mostly uninterrupted reading time. I plan to take full advantage of that!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I just can’t tell you how happy I am that you’re read-a-thon-ing this time around, Somer! It’s so nice to come back and see so many loveable familiar faces! Is Laura reading, too?

    Note to self: Remember to find Somer on Ravelry tomorrow.

    Reply

  2. Laura is still in bed, but maybe later… 🙂 And please, please, please do find me on Ravelry!

    Reply

  3. My hubs is headed to Houston, Texas next week! And Glass Houses? Seriously one of my favorite Vampire series ever. Rachel Caine rocks! And SO DO YOU! Keep up the awesome work and read Read READ!!!

    Reply

  4. Hope your Read-a-Thon is going well!!!

    Reply

  5. […] (3) Somer at Further Adventures of Somer […]

    Reply

  6. Hope you’re having a great readathon! Keep it up!! 🙂 #cheertamales

    Reply

Leave a Reply

