The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie

The Wilder Life

I first wanted to pick up The Wilder Life when I heard an interview with Wendy McClure on NPR a while back. As a kid, I wasn’t a passionate Little House fan, although I did read all of the books. I think. I’m not sure I made it as far as These Happy Golden Years until I was an adult when I read the books aloud with my family. And I still have never finished The First Four Years, I don’t think.

However, the Little House on the Prairie TV show was a pretty integral part of my elementary school years. It used to come on TBS after school, and I probably watched it almost every afternoon.

I wasn’t expecting all that much from the book, so I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved it. I found myself wanting to visit the sites, even going as far as to see how far it is to the Kansas and Missouri sites. Maybe one day I’ll go.

More than anything, what hit me with this book was the sense of nostalgia. I am a highly nostalgic person. I guess part of that comes from my parents’ divorcing when I was 12 and my moving away from Mississippi when I was 14. I don’t want to move back (ever), but that part of my life was just so different from the life I live now. I’m looking forward to writing down some of these memories. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

