Soft Pretzels

A friend sent me home with a Penzeys Spices catalog the other day, and in it there was a recipe for homemade soft pretzels. My daughter saw it and said we really need to do that sometime. I decided “Why wait?” and we did it yesterday. It was really pretty easy, and the results were a-maz-ing!

Homemade Soft Pretzels

Things I learned (some pretty obvious):

1) When following this recipe, it’s probably best to knead the dough by hand rather than using the dough hook on the KitchenAid, unless you’re a really experienced bread baker. I let it go for 10 minutes and the dough was very sticky. I added more gradually and got a good dough, but it would have saved me time to just do it by hand. Not to mention my mixer was not happy!

2) After rolling the pieces of dough into ropes, you really shouldn’t lay them on top of each other. Yeah. Obviously.

3) To get really good pretzel-looking pretzels, the ropes should be longer.

4) These are best eaten fresh. I put the leftovers in a ziplock back and the tops were a little soggy this morning. Plus. Eating them hot is a religous experience.

I have to say, these turned out amazingly good. Have you ever had a pretzel right out of the oven? Oh my god.

Here’s a link to the recipe from the Penzeys catalog:

Homemade Soft Pretzels

Leave a Reply

