Dewey’s 24-hour readathon

I’m going to participate in a readathon today (probably off & on) and will be posting about my progress. Instead of multiple posts, I’ll edit this one regularly with my progress. ( Subject to change, of course …)

Hour 1: Introductions

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

I’m in Houston, Texas.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I haven’t planned well, but I decided yesterday to see how much I can read of Remember Ben Clayton by Stephen Harrigan. I chair a nominating committee at work for the IMPAC Dublin International Literary Award & nominations are due next week. We’re due to make our decision on Tuesday & someone at a conference this week mentioned that this was the best book they read all year, so I want to try to rush it in for consideration.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Haven’t thought that far! But maybe popcorn or frozen samosas.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m a librarian with Houston Public Library. I love to read, but I also love to knit, so my reading has been slow-going lately. I also love to bake & may have to take a break to bake some cookies today!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

This is not my first readathon, but it’s been a while since I participated. I’m looking forward mostly to just getting some dedicated reading time, even though I know I have other things to do. Lately I’ve been choosing knitting over reading during my spare time, but today I’m (mostly) setting the yarn to the side to focus on reading.

10:20 AM
I’m doing this in such a haphazard manner that saying which hour it is is silly. I read off-and-on for an hour & have read about 20 pages. Yeah, not much. But I’ve gone to breakfast & visited with my husband and am now picking my book back up.

Hour 3 activityThe book I’m reading has taken me not that far away, to Abilene, Texas, albeit in a different time, post-WWI. Having visited both northwest Texas and west Texas in the past year, I can picture it well!

12:18 PM

Breaking for lunch. I’m 65 pages into my book now. Not too bad. At 100 pages I’m going to take a knitting break, then switch to another book for a little while.

3:35 PM

After a break for lunch and an errand, I’ve made it to page 103 of Remember Ben Clayton. Great book so far! Going to take a break now, get a drink, knit on a sock, then read a little bit of The Count of Monte Cristo.

4:25 PM

Picking up The Count of Monte Cristo. I’m reading on my Kindle, and this particular edition doesn’t have true page numbers. I’m going to read for 30 minutes and see what percentage I read, then probably dig out a print copy to get an idea of how many pages that is.

4:53 PM

Wow, 1% in 30 minutes… No wonder I’ve been reading this book for a year…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Houston, how nice! I’ve been there a few times to meet family 🙂
    Keep going, you are doing nicely 🙂
    Dee, cheering from e-Volving Books[Team Puck]

    Reply

  2. Oh the panel sounds great – unfortunately I’m sadly under-read in the Indian literature genre…haven’t read any of the authors you mentioned.
    I should read Palace of Illusions, and I will now that you tell me its based on the Mahabharatha!

    There’s a series based off hte Ramayana (the other great Indian epic) by Ashok Banker. Highly recommend it.

    Reply

  3. I live in TX too! And I have family in Houston, so I’ve been there a good amount of times. Houston is lots of fun!! Anyways, you’re doing fantastic so far! Keep on reading! Don’t be afraid to take a little break though, because it’ll help you feel more refreshed, so you can go back to reading with vigor! 😀

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life [Team Puck]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

