Buried in books

I love to read, but I hate when I get overwhelmed. I have so many books started, some of them obligation reads. I want to focus on just one, but I need to finish many. Sigh.

What am I currently, actively reading? Or rather, what am I meant to be currently, actively reading…

The Monstrumologist
The Paris Wife
The Dovekeepers
Swamplandia!

This is my plan of attack at the moment. I’ve been reading The Paris Wife the longest and am almost done, so I will finish that one. Hopefully today.

The Monstrumologist is a library book and needs to be returned soon. I will finish that next.

I’m reading both Swamplandia! and The Dovekeepers for work, as considerations for nominations for the IMPAC International Dublin Literary Award. I own both of these, so there’s not the same hurry (other than that we need to narrow our list down). Swamplandia! is the shorter of the two, so I’ll read that one next, followed by The Dovekeepers.

This, of course, doesn’t address the books I am not actively reading right now: The Count of Monte Cristo (which I started almost a year ago), Einstein (which I started almost 6 months ago), A Clash of Kings(which I was actively reading until my husband surpassed me in the series – in his defense, it is his book!)…

I go through phases when I can read multiple books at a time. This is not one of them. Time to go monogamous for a while.

4 responses to this post.

  1. “Time to go monogamous for a while.” I like that line!! 🙂
    I find myself getting overwhelmed with NetGalley, ARC tours, Kindle books, plus all my library books…*sigh. I need to sit down and prioritize.
    Great starting paragraph, had me wanting to read the rest of your post after seeing those lines in the “books” tag! 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks for the comment! It’s so easy to get overwhelmed, isn’t it? I used to come home from library conferences with bags and bags of books. I still come home with some, but I am more selective now. We have a huge Ikea bookshelf that is completely full of books I haven’t read yet…

      Reply

  2. I always have too many books going at once, and I always hate it! Part of it’s because of homeschooling, which I can’t help. But part of it is because I have no self-control. 😛 Hope you get that stack conquered soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

