The one that started it all

I’ve made a lot of cakes over the past year. And a lot of them were really good. But fancy schmancy as they may have been, I don’t think any of them beat the one that started it all – this recipe for Mexican Chocolate Cake that I randomly found in a Google search.

I searched for Mexican Chocolate cake one day for some reason and bookmarked this cake to make and put it off because I didn’t have an occasion for which to make it. Sometime last spring we had a staff appreciation lunch at work and I dug up this recipe on a whim, not expecting too much. I was stunned by the response I got. Everyone who tried it raved about it. In fact, when about half the cake was gone, our manager took it away so that there would be some left for the other half of the staff the next hour. I had never had such high praise over something I cooked!

Not too long after, I bought All Cakes Considered and started making cakes from that book, which seemed more worthy. And they’re good. Many of them very good. But every once in a while I come back to the Mexican Chocolate Cake. And it blows those cakes away. It is so easy – you make it in a saucepan, so it only dirties two dishes (the saucepan and the baking dish) and it always comes out great. It is THE perfect chocolate cake.

I’m sorry I don’t have pictures to share. This cake never stays around long enough to get its picture taken. It is just that good.

Hats off to Linda Larsen, the About.com guide who originally posted this recipe. You have made my life (and many others’) a little sweeter.

2 responses to this post.

  1. OMG…you’ve no idea how badly you’ve made me miss having an oven. I mean, I already missed having it, but now, well, I’m nearly in tears…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Somer on March 4, 2012 at 12:12 am

    If you send me an address, I’ll send you baked goods!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

