This Week on the Needles – 1/13/12

First, let me apologize for the poor quality of my project pictures this week. I didn’t feel like pulling out the good camera, and the light isn’t great.

I mentioned last week that I was going to do a block a month for a blanket (it will probably actually be 2 blocks a month, if I want a blanket anyone other than a baby can actually use!). I finished my first square Wednesday morning, minus blocking and weaving in ends, which I’ll do this weekend. I’m pleased with how it came out. I’m using Plymouth Encore Worsted, which is a 75/25 acrylic/wool blend. The colors of this square are “forest green” and “fox.” I don’t know that all my squares will use the same colorways, but I’ll choose something that complements them.

20120113-202137.jpg

I’ve made a bit of progress on my Tamarind Cowl. I wish I had used bigger needles, but I think it will still be big enough. I’m considering turning it into a hat if it’s too tight as a cowl.

20120113-202606.jpg

My other current project is the Thin Ice shawl. This is going very well, EXCEPT I realized I forgot to switch to smaller needles to work the section I’m on, as called for in the pattern. I think instead of ripping it out, I’ll just call it a “design element.” Ah well. Sorry about the glaring white in this picture; I brightened a lot so you can see the details in the knitting better.

20120113-203315.jpg

Finally, a little enabling.

My friend Katie, stinkin’ enabler herself, texted me to tell me that The Loopy Ewe had Wollmeise in stock, and I couldn’t resist buying a skein. The color is Taube.

20120113-203613.jpg

I also finally got my order from Knitpicks that I purchased with my gift certificate Jimmy gave me for Christmas. I, unexcitingly, bought blocking mats and wires. Woohoo! But I also bought some Stroll Glimmer in the Dragonscale colorway. My intention was to make the Dragon Wing shawl from Knitty, but after getting the yarn, I’m not sure how great it will look. What do you think?

20120113-204210.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. As always, I’m thoroughly impressed! And envious of your talent. 🙂

    That dragon wing shawl is so cool–I actually think it would be awesome in that yarn. (But I have been called weird on more than one occasion, so you might want to take my opinion out of mix.)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Somer on January 16, 2012 at 12:59 am

    I’m a little afraid of the Dragon Wing shawl – it may be too advanced for me. We’ll see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

