Pumpkin Praline Dessert

I love pumpkin, but I’m not a fan of traditional pumpkin pie. So, I was a little wary of this next recipe from the Betty Crocker Christmas Cookbook. It starts with what I assume is close to a pretty basic pumpkin pie recipe (pumpkin, eggs, sugar, evaporated milk) – I’ve only made one or two pumpkin pies, and those were more than 10 years ago, when I decided I don’t like them enough to make them. You pour this into a 9×13 baking dish and top it with yellow cake mix. As this is a Betty Crocker cookbook, it specifies the Super Moist Golden Vanilla cake mix (the one with pudding in the mix), but I think any moist yellow cake mix would work fine. In fact, I bet it would be fun to experiment with other flavors as well. The cake mix is topped with pecans, and then the whole thing is topped with melted butter.

The recipe was really easy, and it smelled great while it was baking. Both kids tasted theirs before I did and gave it their seal of approval. I was pleasantly surprised, too! The main thing I don’t like about pumpkin pie is the consistency, and the cake mix added just enough bulk to the recipe to make it more palatable to me. My daughter commented that she really liked the consistency.

Overall, I think this will be a nice substitute for traditional pumpkin pie, and I will add it to my pumpkin rotation. Another keeper!

20111114-205044.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my…I just can’t get past the fact that you don’t like pumpkin pie…sure, this looks incredible…but not like pumpkin pie…oh my…

    Reply

  2. My mom doesn’t like pumpkin, so it wasn’t something I grew up with. I love pumpkin everything else, but not traditional pumpkin pie. It’s a texture thing… I wish my mom did like pumpkin, though – I would have loved to make a pumpkin cheesecake for tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

