An even better gingerbread

Last week’s gingerbread was great, don’t get me wrong. But this week’s ATF Gingerbread? Frickin’ amazing. I’ve been baking my way through All Cakes Considered for several months now and most have been good, some outstanding. This one may just be my favorite so far. I think I will bringing one of these to work sometime soon.

It didn’t start out pretty. This is what butter, a little brown sugar, dark beer, and molasses look like blended.

20110918-040824.jpg

Kinda gross, huh? After adding flour, it turned into this beautiful mixture, though.

20110918-040928.jpg

Did I mention beer? I’m not a beer drinker, but I like to taste a little of my husband’s now and again. I couldn’t resist trying this stout, and, for a beer, it was delicious. I do appreciate the complexities of beer, I just don’t like more than a few sips.

20110918-041130.jpg

The house smelled divine while the gingerbread was cooking and as it cooled.

20110918-041237.jpg

I was a little impatient and iced it before it was cool, so the icing melted a bit. That didn’t affect the taste, though. Om nom nom nom!

20110918-041405.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bambi Robinson on September 18, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Any chance of a recipe? Just looking at gingerbread – one of my favorite things – isn’t as good as knowing I can look at, smell and taste it. I never frost mine though.

    Reply

    • Here is the recipe. I didn’t frost the one I made last week, bit this one doesn’t have as much sugar. The frosting is optional, and I think it is probably still delicious without it.

      Cake:
      1 stick unsalted butter
      2 tbsp dark brown sugar
      1 large egg
      1 c molasses
      1 c dark beer
      2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
      1 tsp baking soda
      1 1/2 tsp ground cloves
      1 tsp ground cinnamon
      Dash of salt
      1/2 cup crystallized ginger, broken into small chunks

      Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray the sides and bottom of a 8-inch square or 9-in round baking dish.

      Cream the butter on medium speed. Add the brown sugar. Beat well.

      Still at medium speed, add egg, molasses, and beer all together. Beat well for 1-2 minutes.

      In a separate bowl, dry whisk flour, baking soda, cloves, cinnamon, and salt. Add to the batter in thirds, beating well after each addition.

      Using a spatula, fold in the crystallized ginger.

      Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 45-50 minutes.

      Ginger Cream Cheese Frosting

      3 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
      1/2 stick butter, at room temperature
      1 tsp vanilla extract
      2 c powdered sugar
      1/2 tsp ground ginger

      Cream the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla at medium speed. Add the sugar gradually. Add the ginger. Beat until smooth.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

