I want another piece!

Lately, Sundays have been my favorite day to bake. The library is closed on Sundays, so it is almost always a lazy day. The only problem with baking on Sunday is that I ride the bus on Mondays and can’t easily bring the finished product to work.

I’ve been working my way through All Cakes Considered by Melissa Gray. I’ve done about 9 cakes now, and they have almost all been successful. We won’t talk about the failed Procrastinatin’ Drunken Monkey Banana Bread…

20110828-034312.jpg

Today’s cake was Dorie Greenspan’s Swedish Visiting Cake.

20110828-033418.jpg

It was simple and delicious! The explanation for the name of the cake is that it is quick enough that if you see a visitor coming down the road, you can start the cake and it will be ready in time to sit down for tea or coffee. It may not have been that quick, but it was pretty effortless. I didn’t even need my mixer for this one.

20110828-033436.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Somer! I didn’t know you had a blog! This one is new, right? But I didn’t know you had one before. I’d love to follow! I was going to tell you you should start a food blog for your cake experiments!!!
    🙂

    Reply

    • I’ve had a few attempts but they didn’t stick, mostly because they were too focused. I’m hoping by keeping this one broad I’ll actually maintain it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

