Ice Cream Bread

20120220-195717.jpg

Black Walnut Ice Cream Bread

Yes, you read that right. Ice cream bread. I’m not sure how my daughter ran across this – probably some Tumblr post – but she came to me yesterday and said I had to make this. Here’s the original post from The Hungry Housewife - a blog I think I must start reading! Since she and my husband had to go to school/work today, while Eli and I got to stay home, Laura insisted that it be made today. She had a point. So I stopped by the store and chose some ice cream. I chose black walnut, but you could use anything, I think. Well, I’m not sure how something like Phish Food would translate…

This is the easiest thing I’ve ever made. Ice cream and self-rising flour. That’s it. Now, I used a modification for the flour, since I didn’t have any self-rising on hand, and, as you can see in the picture, my bread didn’t rise much. Next time I’ll suck it up and buy a bag.

Regardless of the height, this tastes really good! Just a little sweet with a hint of the ice cream taste. I will definitely make it again!

Good find, Laura!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

